I-BEST

Nursing students

Get academic support while you work towards your degree! 

Integrated Basic Education and Skills Training (I-BEST) programs support students by providing an in program support teacher that helps you develop your studying and academic skills. 

The I-BEST model uses a team-teaching approach to combine college-readiness classes with our hands-on competency based classes. I-BEST  has two instructors in the same classroom to teach technical and related academic skills.  

What I-BEST programs are available?

Bates currently offers I-BEST in the following programs:

How to get started

To enroll at Bates Technical College in one of our I-BEST or other program, contact us at 253.680.7002.

I-BEST Faculty

Biomedical Service Technician/Electronic Equipment Service Technician 

Paula Grow | I-BEST Instructor | pgrow@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7265

Technical Instructors: Art Cutting, Franklin Hsu, Landon Johnson 

CNC/Machinist 

Paula Emerson-Glade | I-BEST Instructor | pemersonglade@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7273

Technical Instructors:  Barry Young, Denell Zander, Dan Sanford, Steve Rose  

Electrical Construction 

Kathryn Lorz | I-BEST Instructor | klorz@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7433

Technical Instructors:  Dave Leenhouts, Jeff Llapitan, Jim Androy 

Diesel and Heavy Equipment Technology 

Phil Marr | I-BEST Instructor | pmarr@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7291

Technical Instructors:  Lee Jefferson, Mick McGuire, Mike Sartore 

Practical Nurse 

Amanda Quintana | I-BEST Instructor | aquintana@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7395

Technical Instructors:  Bill Swarens, Becky Piper, Karen Albright, Lucia Bell, Eileen Beck 

Facilities Maintenance Engineer 

Karrie Zylstra | I-BEST Instructor | kzylstra@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7540

Technical Instructor:  Dale Trombley 

Administrative Medical Assistant 

Angela Driver | I-BEST Instructor | adriver@bates.ctc.edu | 253.680.7169

Technical Instructor:  Mary Ann Keith