Faculty Awards

Contact Us

Kym Pleger
Director of College Relations

LeAnn Dreier
Foundation Specialist

Location Downtown Campus, Rm M332

The foundation has two opportunities during the year for faculty awards. First, is our longstanding tradition of awarding mini-grants. The purpose of the mini grant awards is to fund innovative and unique projects or programs that enhance the mission and goals of Bates Technical College, but which may not normally be funded through the college's annual operating budget.

Secondly, the foundation awards an annual Exceptional Faculty Award. The Exceptional Faculty Award was established to provide recognition to faculty who demonstrate exemplary work performance, positive impact on students, professional commitment, and other contributions to the college.  The award is made possible through an endowed trust fund established by the Washington State Legislature and by donations from the Bates Technical College Foundation. The selected honoree will attend the 2016 National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, to be held May 28-31, 2016, in Austin, TX. 

Exceptional Faculty Award 2015-2016

2015-2016 application opens Jan. 14.

Thursday, Jan. 14

Announce open nomination process/application
Friday, Feb. 12 Application deadline at NOON
Monday, March 14 Foundation announces 2016 honoree
May 28-31, 2016 NISOD Conference, Austin, TX

To be eligible, the nominee must be a full or part-time faculty member employed at Bates for a minimum of one year. A recipient of the award will not be eligible to receive another award for a period of four (4) years.

Selection: Self-nominations accepted. Any Bates employee may also nominate another faculty member. The selection committee will review the nominations and support letters and make a recommendation to the president and executive cabinet for final decision.  Nominations will be evaluated and selected on the following criteria:

  • Exceptional service to a program or discipline. Enriching the classroom with knowledge, experience, and vitality; demonstrating to a superior degree the characteristics of good college teaching: knowledge of subject, enthusiasm, clarity of presentation, ability to involve students, creativity, and student empathy.
  • Dedication, knowledge, expertise or exceptional achievement in a program or discipline, or an academic or professional specialty.
  • Positive impact on students. Being a mentor and/or exemplary advisor. Generates excitement for learning.

Exceptional Faculty Honorees

2015 Ed Young
2014 Teri Amundsen