College Governance

A five-member Board of Trustees governs Bates Technical College. Appointed by the Governor of the state of Washington, the trustees set college policies, hire the president, determine and approve the budget and award faculty tenure. Bates is honored to have trustees who involve themselves in many aspects of the college, including legislative advocacy, joint projects with other college trustees, and programs to support regional workforce and economic development. 

Board of Trustees 2013-2014

Trustee Calvin PearsonCalvin Pearson, Chair
Appointed June 2006, reappointed 2011 
Pearson is a Commercial Banking Officer and Vice President at Columbia Bank. Active in the Tacoma-Pierce County community, he is a member of the Tacoma-Pierce County Black Collective; Tacoma Urban League; Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber; Group Health Leadership Advisory Group, and more. Pearson serves on the board for the Economic Development Corporation for Tacoma Pierce County. He is also a senior fellow of the American Leadership Forum and a past board member of The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation, South Sound Outreach Services and Communities in Schools.

Trustee Theresa Hosley

Theresa Pan Hosley, Vice Chair
Appointed March 2002, reappointed 2010
Pan Hosley is owner of Star Tours in Tacoma and serves as the president of both Associate Travel Inc. and Marco Polo Tours in Seattle. She is the current president of the Chinese Reconciliation Project Foundation, and a current board member of both the Pike Place Market Foundation and the World Affairs Council, Tacoma branch. Pan Hosley has served as a trustee for Annie Wright School, was principal of the Tacoma Chinese Language School, and was a member of the Fuzhou and Taichun sister cities steering committees. Governor Locke appointed Pan Hosley as a trustee in March 2002 and Governor Gregoire re-appointed her in 2010.

Trustee Mike GrunwaldMike Grunwald
Appointed Nov. 2004, reappointed 2009
Grunwald, an international representative for the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, was the former chair of Bates' Electrical Construction program advisory committee and is the past president of the Washington State Association of Electrical Workers. He served as president of the Washington State Building and Construction Trades Council, as a member of the Washington State Workers' Compensation Finance Committee and is an American Leadership Forum Senior Fellow. Governor Gary Locke originally appointed Grunwald in 2004 as a trustee, and Governor Christine Gregoire re-appointed him in 2009.

Lillian Hunter 
Appointed Oct. 2013
Hunter is the director of West Sound Technical Skills Center and a Tacoma Public Library trustee. She previously served as principal and assistant principal in Tacoma School District, and assistant principal and career and technical education coordinator in Peninsula School District. Prior to entering administrative positions, Hunter was an instructor for dental assistant programs at Clover Park Technical College, Highline Community College and as an evening instructor at Bates Technical College. She was also a career and technical education teacher at Lincoln and Washington high schools, and a career and technical grants coordinator for the East Pierce County School District Consortium.

Karen Seinfeld
Appointed March 2005, reappointed 2007
Seinfeld is a retired Judge of the Washington State Court of Appeals. A graduate of Stanford University and the University of Puget Sound Law School, Seinfeld served as president of City Club of Tacoma, The Puget Sound Inn of Court, the Tacoma Sunrise Rotary, and the Tacoma Public Library Board. She is currently a senior fellow with the American Leadership Forum. Seinfeld also serves as chair of the Washington News Council, vice president of the Tacoma Philharmonic, on the boards of the Tacoma Goodwill, the Washington State Courts Historical Society, and the State Office of Public Defense, and as a member of Rotary #8. Governor Gregoire first appointed Seinfeld to a partial term as a trustee in 2005 and re-appointed her to a full term in 2007.